Ohio Chapter Vice-President (2019 - 2020)

​Dorothy Fitzgerald

Dorothy's Bio Coming Soon!


Ohio Chapter President (2018 - 2020)


BJ Knutson is a customer service rep in the Dayton Adjudication center. Her primary role is an adjudicator for Unemployment Insurance. She is also the lead trainer in her office and participates in Rapid Responses throughout the state.  

BJ came to IAWP several years ago and has taken an active roll on many committees since. For several years she has been one of the faces of registration. She is also very active in Fundraising for IAWP. BJ is very excited that she has been afforded the opportunity to work in a leadership role on the IAWP journey.

Ohio Chapter Area 5 Representative



Beth Brannigan's Bio Coming Soon!

John Flinn

Maria Helminski-Iwinski

Patty Byers

Beth Brannigan


​​Communications and Media (2019 - 2020)

​Elizabeth Rathburn
Contact: IAWPCommunications@gmail.com  

Lisa Marie Pavel

Ohio Chapter Area 7 Representative



Sonya Walder's Bio Coming Soon!

​Ohio Chapter Board
Ohio Chapter Area Representatives

Retiree Chair  (2017-2018)


John Flinn’s career with the State of Oho working for Ohio Bureau of Employment Services / Ohio Department of Job and Family Services (OBES/ODJFS) began in 1987 when he was hired as a temporary worker with the warehouse on Corvair Blvd. In 1992, he again obtained temporary employment with OBES/ODJFS as a Local Veterans Employment Representative (LVER).  Later that year he became a permanent employee as a Disabled Veterans Outreach Placement Specialist (DVOPS). John served as a LVER and DVOPS until 2002 in Franklin County. From 2002 until 2006, he served as a DVOPS in Union, Champaign, Madison, Clark, and Logan counties.

In 2006, John was promoted to the position of Veterans Program Manager with Central Office in Franklin County. He was appointed to the Ohio Ex-Offender Reentry Coalition by then Director Lumpkin to represent ODJFS. Also during John’s employment with OBES/ODJFS he have served as Commander of Disabled Veterans of America (DAV) Chapter 142, Commander of Military Order of the Purple Heart, Buckeye Chapter #500 and President of Toastmaster.

John is an Army Veteran of the Vietnam War decorated with the Military Order of the Purple Heart, Army Commendation Medal with V Device and other citations.

Since John’s retirement at the close of 2013, he has enjoyed golfing, traveling, and naps whenever he feels like it. He has also increased his involvement in IAWP by being elected the Retirement Chair for IAWP, Ohio Sub-Chapter.

Patty Byers

Sonya Walder

Heather Ponish

BJ Knutson

Ohio Chapter Treasurer



Ohio Chapter Area 1 Representative



Maria Helminski-Iwinski's Bio Coming Soon!

Ohio Chapter Area 4 Representative



Bio Coming Soon!

Ohio Chapter Area 2 Representative



VACANT - If you are interested in becoming the Area 2 Representative, please contact the current IAWP President.

Ohio Chapter Board Secretary (2019 - 2020)

Patty's Bio Coming Soon!


Ohio Chapter Area 3 Representative



Lisa Marie Pavel's Bio Coming Soon!

Ohio Chapter Area 6 Representative



Heather Ponish started her career with ODJFS in 2006 as a permanent part-time ETA at the Muskingum Co. One Stop assisting with re-employment programs. Soon after, she became a full-time CSR and presently covers Guernsey and Coshocton OMJ Centers.  She is also a Regional Trainer and travels to various SEO OMJ Centers throughout Region 4, to help train staff and to assist with re-employment services. 

Heather attended Zane State College and plans to enroll in The Ohio State University’s Workforce Development and Education Program, specializing in Corporate Training and Development. 

She has been an IAWP member since attending her first conference back in 2012. She is looking forward to more involvement with IAWP as the Region 6 Area Representative, and would like to expand the Region 6 sub-chapter with new memberships and fundraisers. A few of her favorite charities are St. Jude’s, the Wounded Warrior Project, and Pet charities.